Expert SQE Law Tutors Online explain the SQE Exams.

The Solicitors Qualifying Examinations (SQE) are a new set of exams that were introduced in September 2021 for anyone who wants to qualify as a solicitor in England and Wales. The SQE replaces the Legal Practice Course (LPC) and the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) route is now the only way to qualify as a solicitor in England and Wales. 

The SQE is a two-stage exam. SQE1 tests your knowledge of the law, while SQE2 tests your legal skills. You can take the SQE1 and SQE2 exams in any order, and you can resit the exams as many times as you need to.

To qualify as a solicitor through the SQE route, you must also complete two years of qualifying work experience (QWE). QWE can be completed in any law firm or legal organisation, and it gives you the opportunity to apply the skills and knowledge that you have learned in the SQE exams.

The SQE is a more flexible and accessible route to becoming a solicitor than the LPC. You can take the SQE exams at any time, and you don't need to have a law degree to qualify. The SQE also allows you to complete your QWE while you are studying for the SQE exams, which can save you time and money.

If you are interested in qualifying as a solicitor, the SQE is the best option for you. The SQE is a more flexible, accessible, and affordable route to becoming a solicitor, and it will give you the skills and knowledge that you need to succeed in your career.

Here are some additional details about the SQE:

SQE1 is a two-day exam that tests your knowledge of the following areas of law:

o Business law and practice

o Dispute resolution

o Contract

o Tort

o Legal system of England and Wales

o Constitutional and administrative law

o EU law and legal services

SQE2 is a three-day exam that tests your legal skills in the following areas:

o Advising clients

o Drafting legal documents

o Conducting legal research

o Negotiating

o Representing clients in court

QWE must be completed in a law firm or legal organisation that is approved by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA). You can find a list of approved organisations on the SRA website.

The SQE is a pass/fail exam. There are no grades, and you do not need to achieve a certain percentage to pass.

You can resit the SQE exams as many times as you need to. There is no limit to the number of times you can resit the exams.

If you are interested in learning more about the SQE, please visit the SRA website. The SRA website has a wealth of information about the SQE, including:

A guide to the SQE

A list of approved organisations

A FAQ about the SQE

I hope this blog post has been helpful. If you have any further questions about the SQE, please feel free to ask our specialist team of SQE Tutors.


Law Tutors Online, UK Law Tutor, UK Law Notes, Manchester Law TutorBirmingham Law TutorNottingham Law TutorOxford Law Tutor, Cambridge Law Tutor, New York Law TutorSydney Law Tutor, Singapore Law Tutor, Hong Kong Law Tutor, UK Law Tutors and London Law Tutor are trading names of London Law Tutor Ltd. which is a company registered in England and Wales. Company Registration Number: 08253481. VAT Registration Number: 160291824 Registered Data Controller: ZA236376 Registered office: Berkeley Square House, Berkeley Square, London, UK W1J 6BD. All Rights Reserved. Copyright © 2012-2024.